ICC selects Nida Dar for its T20I team of the year

Herald Report

Pakistan’s Nida Dar has been picked in the International Council of Cricket (ICC) Women’s T20I team of the year.

The 32-year-old, popularly known as Lady Lala, is the only Pakistani player in the 11-member squad led by Australia’s Meg Lanning. The maximum number of players has also been selected from Australia namely Alyssa Healy, Ellyse Perry, and Megan Schutt.

Other members of the team are India’s Smriti Mandhana, Deepti Sharma and Radha Yadhav, South Africa’s Lizelle Lee and Shabnim Ismail. Dani Wyatt is the only England player in the team.

Ms Dar made her debut as a bowler in women’s twenty20 match against Sri Lanka in 2010. She took her first five-wicket haul in a match against Sri Lanka in women’s Twenty20 Asia Cup 2018. She was also named as the standout player in the team by the International Cricket Council for the 2018 ICC Women’s World Twenty20 tournament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join Us